top of page

The Four Purposes

The four purposes are the fundamental drivers for The Curriculum for Wales 2022.  The aim is for all children in Wales to develop as:

  • ambitious, capable learners

  • enterprising, creative contributors

  • ethical, informed citizens

  • healthy, confident individuals

Mandatory Elements

  • Religion, Value and Ethics

  • Relationship and Sexuality Education

  • English

  • Welsh

Integral Skills

  • creativity and innovation

  • critical thinking and problem solving

  • personal effectiveness

  • planning and organising

The Six Areas of Learning

  • Expressive Arts

  • Health and Well-Being

  • Humanities

  • Languages, Literacy and Communication

  • Mathematics and Numeracy

  • Science and Technology

Cross Curricular Skills

  • literacy

  • numeracy

  • digital competence

Statutory Skills

  • Additional Learning Needs and Educational Tribunal (Wales) Act 2018

  • Well-being of Future Generations (Wales) Act 2015

  • United Nation Convention on the Rights of the Child

  • United Nation Convention on the Rights of persons with Disabilities

  • Careers & work-related experiences

Key drivers in the Curriculum for Wales

bottom of page